The Medal of Honor is the highest military honor, awarded for valor in combat above and beyond the call of duty. The medal is awarded only to military personnel, in the name of congress, by the President of the United States. There are three versions of the medal, one for the Army, one for the Navy, (also given to personnel in the Marine Corp and the Coast Guard.) and one for the Air Force.

The presentation of the Medal of Honor is typically by the President at the White House in a formal ceremony. The ceremony is intended to represent the gratitude of the nation, with posthumous presentations made to the primary next of kin.

In 1990, Congress designated March 25 annually as “National Medal of Honor Day”

The Stolen Valor Act

The Medal of Honor is afforded special protection under U.S. law against any unauthorized adornment, sale, or manufacture, which includes any associated ribbon or badge. The Stolen Valor Act of 2005, signed into law by President George W. Bush on December 20, 2006. The law made it a federal misdemeanor to falsely represent oneself as having received any U.S. military decoration or medal. In United States v. Alvarez  the U.S. Supreme Court ruled on June 28, 2012, that the Stolen Valor Act was an unconstitutional abridgment of the freedom of speech under the First Amendment,  striking down the law in a 6 to 3 decision. However, in 2013, The Stolen Valor Act of 2013, is passed into law by the 113th United States Congress, rightfully overturning the ridiculous ruling of the Supreme Court in 2012. The law is a revised version of  United States vs. Alvarez.